Car insurance is critical to protect yourself and your family from costly accidents while out on the road. Unfortunately, many motorists across the country and throughout Texas travel without proper insurance. What happens if you become a victim of a car crash involving an uninsured motorist?
It’s Against the Law to Drive Without Liability Insurance in Texas
According to recent data, one in eight drivers is uninsured. In Texas, driving without a minimum amount of liability insurance is illegal. Texas law requires at least $30,000 of coverage for injuries, per person, up to a total of $60,000 per accident, and $25,000 of coverage for property damage, also known as 30/60/25 coverage.
Your Insurance Company May Be Able to Help
You must contact the insurance company quickly after your car accident to ensure you take advantage of any coverage you do have.
- Typically, since Texas is an at-fault state, you’d contact the insurance company of the at-fault driver.
- If the driver doesn’t have insurance, you’ll need to reach out to your own insurance company to help pay your medical bills, repair your vehicle and more. You may have coverage such as uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage available with your plan.
Filing a Personal Injury Claim Is a Possibility
If you do not have uninsured motorist coverage, you might be able to file a personal injury claim against the at-fault driver. While drivers without insurance may not be able to afford a settlement, other recovery options may exist.
Additional Parties Involved
In some accidents, additional parties may be involved that could be held responsible for your injuries and property damage. For example, a driver’s employer may be responsible if the driver was on the clock at the time of the accident.
We recommend reaching out to an attorney who can investigate the crash on your behalf to ensure all options are considered.
Call Ted B Lyon & Associates Today
A car accident is an emotionally and physically painful event. There’s help available for you even if the at-fault driver is uninsured. Let the team at Ted B. Lyon & Associates support you through this time. To learn more about your legal rights, give us a call at 877-Ted-Lyon / 877-833-5966 or send us a message.