A car accident can leave your emotions scarred and your body damaged. Your injuries can greatly affect your life now and well into the future. As such it’s important to understand what the Texas car accident laws say about your rights as a victim.
Texas Is a “Fault” Car Accident State
Under Texas’s fault car accident laws, you can file an insurance claim or a lawsuit against the at-fault driver in your accident. If you’re partially at-fault for the accident, however, the rules of modified comparative fault apply. Any damages you might receive will be decreased by your percentage of fault. If you’re found to be more than 50% at-fault in the accident, you won’t be entitled to any compensation.
Statute of Limitations
You have a limited time to file a lawsuit against an at-fault party. This set amount of time is known as a statute of limitations. In Texas, most car accident lawsuits must be filed within two years of the date of the accident. Failure to file on time means you lose any right to seek legal recourse for your injuries and losses.
Texas requires you to carry insurance on your vehicles. You must have at least the minimum amount of liability car insurance coverage. This includes $30,000 for injuries per person, $60,000 for total bodily injury when two or more people are injured, and $25,000 for property damage per accident.
Texas law also requires you to file a crash report within 10 days of your accident if a police officer doesn’t investigate and the accident results in injury, death or property damage. We recommend always calling the police after an accident of any kind. A police report will help your case.
Your Rights After a Car Accident in Texas
If you suffer injuries due to a car accident, in which you weren’t to blame, you’re entitled to compensation. In Texas, you’re able to file a claim with your own insurance company or the at-fault driver’s insurance company. Examples of compensation you’re entitled to seek include:
- Medical care
- Long-term care
- Lost income due to injury
- Home modifications due to disability
- Pain and suffering
If you lost a loved one due to the accident, you may be able to file a wrongful death lawsuit to obtain compensation such as loss of companionship.
Car Accident? Let the Attorneys at Ted B. Lyon & Associates Support You.
If you’re a victim of a car accident, don’t wait to reach out for help. The experienced attorneys at Ted B. Lyon & Associates can help you decide which next step to take for the best outcome. To learn more about your potential case, give us a call at 877-Ted-Lyon / 877-833-5966 or send us a message.